* * *

News & Reviews


THE FORGOTTEN HOURS makes #7 on the Washington Post Bestseller list, stays on the list for seven weeks!

Is Fictionalizing Crimes Inherently Exploitative? A thought-provoking essay I wrote for 
CrimeReads (LitHub)

Aspen Public Radio host Mitzi Rapkin talks all things books with me (NPR)

Author Lynne Griffin interviews me on
Psychology Today: Adult Daughters and their Fathers: The Long Shadow of Trust

Jan 2, 2019 Guest post on 
Jane Friedman's blog
Your #1 Secret Weapon: Writing Communities

Listed by
Popsugar as one of Ten Books by Debut Authors to Watch! See here

Q & A on
LA Review of Books Blog with author of Cape May, Chip Cheek: we really get into it here!

The Forgotten Hours makes
BookBub's Top 28 Hit Books This Year (So Far)

Fran Lewis interviews me on
BlogTalk Radio for an hour: she really dug into this book!

Author Crystal King and I have a far-reaching conversation on
GrubWrites

Book Q & As with Deborah Kalb features The Forgotten Hours 


On Brit + Co: 3 Gripping New Books About Family Crimes

Here I am talking about the book on Must Read Fiction

I'm featured on the Book Club Cook Book's February list (also here)

CrimeSpree Magazine interviewed me about The Forgotten Hours

A Q & A by Heather Caliendo at Book Club Chat

Heather reviews The Forgotten Hours on Book Club Chat, and poses some great book club questions here

The Forgotten Hours is one of
Liz & Lisa's Best Books of the Month for February 

A lively video author interview on
Writing Fun 


Hear my chat with Cyrus Webb on Conversations Live 
 

"Schumann’s debut novel brings a new perspective to sexual assault and how it affects families, with Katie’s story resonating with issues in today’s society. Flashbacks to the past are intertwined with the narrative, and the slow reveal of detail will leave readers wanting more. With a surprise twist, this work is sure to please. For fans of Jodi Picoult."
~ Library Journal 

The Forgotten Hours is in the Brooklyn Digest and BrooklynFans.com


“…Schumann crafts a powerfully compelling story of family loyalties, teenage friendships, and the fickleness of memory. Timely and  provocative, this first novel will appeal to fans of Lianne Moriarty, Paula Hawkins, and Jenna Blum.”
~ Booklist


“Schumann's is a carefully-constructed novel that skillfully weaves past and present, slowly planting clues that help unlock the narrative's central mystery while ratcheting up tension...The fast-moving plot and compelling, layered characters make for an addictive and incredibly timely read. A page-turner that also speaks to broader questions of sexual abuse, family loyalty, and the mutability of memory.”
~ Kirkus Reviews 

“A riveting story…Schumann has an eye for detail, an ear for the rhythmical sentence, and a voice that is clear and resonant.”
~ New York Journal of Books

"The Forgotten Hours is a consummate and nuanced read about the nature of human relationships, the conflict of loyalties, and the evasive nature of truth."
~ Authorlink.com

Andrea Katz of Great Thoughts reveals the cover of THE FORGOTTEN HOURS
Oct 17, 2018